House of Guibert

The House of Guibert , the Parisian saddler, was founded in 1999.

Pierre Guibert, an impassioned rider, established his saddlery from the beginning as one of total French excellence. This quest for perfection in the world of horse riding requires that each step in the design of products and the craft of leather is destined for a similarly passionate clientele.

The materials, always natural, are selected according to the highest quality and combine a design both refined and timeless allowing a perfect harmony of each creation to its function.

Quality, simplicity and functional are the fundamentals of the House of Guibert Paris which perpetuates a universe where an ancient savoir-faire has been elevated to an art.

The exclusive French fabrication equally underlines, in addition, the unique character of the House of Guibert and where this universe is personified in the boutique situated at 22 Avenue Victor Hugo, at close proximity to the Arc de Triomphe, place de l’Etoile.

From saddlery,leatherware through to silk and jewellery the House of Guibert gives body , season after season, to the equestrian lifestyle à la française.

pierre-guibert.jpg
row1-image1.jpg
row1-image2.jpg
row1-image3.jpg

Le Quarter Marker

quarter-markers1.jpg

The Quarter Markers are geometrical symbols of military origin designed on the hindquarters of the horse by stencils through which the hair ,smooth or brushed against the natural way, gives rise to an alternating brightness against a mat appearance and thus forming a required motif.

Appearing in the XVI century its goal was to impress opposing regiments – the embellishment of the hindquarters in such a way served as an illusion as to the true state and force of the cavalry.

Used today for purely aesthetic ends, one can find them at the finest equestrian competitions ,as well as military ceremonial appearances such as those of the Republican Guard or other meetings of both mounted army and police in France or abroad.

This historical tradition the House of Guibert has known how to lay claim to by designing its own Quarter Marker, an equestrian mark found as an underlying theme on the House accessories from canvas bags and leather ware to silk items.

quarter-markers2.jpg
row2-image1.jpg
row2-image2.jpg
row2-image3.jpg

Le cuir Barenia Indiana

Indiana , created 60 years ago in Barr, Alsace, belongs to an exclusive , closed circle of the best leathers in the world where it is the material of choice for the finest luxury houses

The skins, of a vastly superior quality, are subjected to a drastic selection to ensure that only the finest make the grade : in the end , only 15-20 % are considered worthy of being in Indiana.

sac-indiana.jpg
ceinture-indiana.jpg

However, this is not to think that Indiana is just a leather of prestige because ,above all, it is the expression of French savoir-faire and held in secret by only one such tannery in the world.

What makes this leather unique is its natural finish : the full blossoming appears in its brute elegance. Its incomparable touch and sensuality, its patina enhanced with the passing of time and its characteristic aroma are all witness to its singularity.

Vegetable Leather, extra slow

Vegetable leather comes from an original tanning using exclusively natural products such as tree bark ( in our case of oak and chestnut ) , leaves and pure water and demanding a highly developed savoir-faire linked to the seasonal variations of natural tannins.

The extra-slow issues from a traditional craft centred on the emblematic savoir-faire of French tanners allowing the consistency of a product of high value.

This process, both long and meticulous, requires the savoir-faire of the finest tanners who resist the temptation of an industry wishing to produce ever more and even more quickly. Time is more than ever the first luxury and it is on through giving priority to the noblest material.

row3-image1.jpg
row3-image2.jpg
row3-image3.jpg

Tanned over 12 months (unlike the classical vegetable leather) this extended process allows the leather fibres to retighten slowly without deteriorating in order to conserve the original suppleness of the skin.

This exceptional quality is indispensable for high-class luxury saddles , for which the leather must be not only supple but also robust ,accompanying both the horse and rider without deformation and thus offering the finest sensations.

Maison Guibert

La Maison Guibert, sellier à Paris, voit le jour en 1999. 

Pierre Guibert, cavalier passionné, place dès les débuts sa maison sous le signe de l’excellence française. Une quête de perfection qui se traduit à chaque étape de la conception de ces produits issus de l’univers équestre et des métiers du cuir, et destinés à une clientèle passionnée. 

Les matières, toujours naturelles, sont sélectionnées selon les plus hauts grades de qualité et sont associées à un design épuré et intemporel, qui privilégie une parfaite adéquation de chaque création à sa fonction. 

Qualité, simplicité, naturel et fonctionnel, tels sont les fondamentaux de la Maison Guibert Paris qui perpétue un savoir-faire millénaire élevé au rang de métier d’art. 

La fabrication exclusivement française souligne également le caractère unique de la Maison Guibert, dont l’univers s’incarne dans sa boutique parisienne, située au 22 Avenue Victor Hugo, à proximité de la place de l’Étoile. 

De la sellerie, à la maroquinerie, en passant par la soie & les bijoux, la Maison Guibert donne corps, saison après saison, au lifestyle équestre à la française.

LE QUARTER MARKER

Les Quarter Markers sont des symboles géométriques aux origines militaires, réalisés sur les croupes des chevaux grâce à des pochoirs au travers desquels le poil des chevaux, lissés ou rebroussés, font apparaitre une alternance de brillance et de mat, donnant naissance au motif désiré. Apparus au XVIème siècle, ils visaient à impressionner les régiments adverses : l’embellissement de la croupe par le Quarter Marker constituait un leurre sur la force et l’état réel de la cavalerie. 

Aujourd’hui utilisés à des fins purement esthétiques, on les retrouve dans les plus grandes compétitions équestres ainsi que lors des sorties d’apparat de corporations militaires telles que la Garde Républicaine ou les différentes forces militaires et de police à cheval, en France et à l’étranger.

Une tradition historique que la Maison Guibert a sû s’approprier, dessinant son propre Quarter Marker, empreinte équestre qu’on retrouve tel un fil rouge sur les accessoires de la maison, des toiles de sacs ou de maroquinerie jusqu’à la soierie.

LE CUIR INDIANA

L’Indiana fait partie du cercle très fermé des meilleurs cuirs au monde. Créé il y a plus de soixante ans à Barr, en Alsace, il est un des matériaux de prédilections des plus grandes maisons de luxe. 

Les peaux, d’un grade de qualité supérieur, subissent une sélection drastique pour ne conserver que les meilleures : au final, seules 15 à 20% d’entre elles pourront être tannées en Indiana et accèderont définitivement à ce statut d’exception. 

Mais l’Indiana n’est pas qu’un cuir de prestige, il est avant tout l’expression de l’excellence d’un savoir-faire français, détenu et gardé secret par une seule tannerie au monde. 

Ce qui achève de le rendre unique, c’est tout simplement sa finition naturelle : le pleine fleur apparaît dans sa brute élégance. Son toucher incomparable, sa sensualité, sa patine qui embellit la matière au fil du temps, et son odeur si caractéristique, sont autant de témoignages de sa singularité.

LE CUIR VÉGÉTAL EXTRA LENT

Le cuir végétal est issu du tannage originel, utilisant exclusivement des produits naturels tels que les écorces d’arbres (dans notre cas du chêne et du châtaignier), des feuilles, et de l’eau pure. Il exige un grand savoir-faire, lié aux variations saisonnières des tannins naturels.

L’extra-lent est issu d’un artisanat traditionnel centré sur le savoir-faire emblématique des tanneurs français, permettant de maintenir un produit de haute valeur.

Tanné pendant douze mois contre quelques jours pour un végétal classique, cette durée étendue permet aux fibres du cuir de se resserrer lentement sans se dégrader, conservant ainsi toute la souplesse originelle de la peau. Cette qualité hors du commun est indispensable à la sellerie de luxe, pour laquelle le cuir se doit d’être aussi souple que solide, accompagnant le cheval et son cavalier sans se déformer, leur offrant les meilleures sensations.

Exceptionnel de par son procédé de tannage ralenti, l’extra lent l’est aussi par sa rareté. En effet, une seule tannerie au monde, elle est française, produit encore ce cuir d’exception. 
Ce processus, long et méticuleux, requiert le savoir-faire des meilleurs artisans tanneurs et fait la sourde oreille aux sirènes d’une industrie qui veut souvent produire plus et toujours plus vite. Le temps est plus que jamais le 1er des luxes, et c’est en privilégiant des matériaux nobles tels que l’Indiana ou le végétal extra lent que la Maison Guibert communique ses valeurs auprès des connaisseurs, et sa vision d’un luxe sobre mais hautement exigeant.